Salsa!

DSCF2161

Thanks to some good friends who gave me some peppers (green and hot) I was able to can some salsa today.  I love making salsa from scratch because I control exactly what goes into it.  It’s really pretty healthy.  The tomatoes and onions came from the garden.   The peppers came from friends.  The only thing I had to buy was the celery.  The cans are in the pressure canner right now.  We’re waiting to the pressure to return to 0.  Our house smells wonderful.  We can’t wait to have some salsa!

I got this recipe from a co-worker about 15 years ago. I thought I would share it with you today.

Salsa

Ingredients:

8 cups chopped Tomatoes (I put mine in the blender
4 cups onions, chopped
4 cups sweet peppers, chopped
4 cups celery, chopped
1/2 hot peppers, chopped
6 cloves garlic
4 tsp salt
4 tsp cumin
1 cup sugar

Mix all ingredients and cook for 35 minutes on medium heat. Fill jars while hot and process in hot water bath or pressure canner.

Leave a Reply

