Homemade Natural Body Wash – Liquid Castile Soap

I am supposed to take it easy and stay off my feet for a couple of days, so I decided to try a project I’ve been wanting to do for a while now.  Make some natural body wash.

This project turned out to be incredibly easy (& I could do most of it sitting down) and only takes 2 ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bar castile soap
  • 6 cups water

Other Equipment You’ll Need:

  • vegetable grater
  • large sauce pan

Instructions:

  • Take your bar of soap and shred it using your vegetable grater.  I chose Kirk’s plain castile soap, but I think you can get lavender & peppermint also.  Next time I think I’ll add some essential oils for some nice fragrance.
  • Heat the water until it is almost boiling;  then add the soap flakes.
  • Stir the mixture.  The soap flakes should start to melt.  Remove from heat and let sit for an hour or so.  By this time the flakes should be melted.
  • You’re done!  Let cool & pour into containers.

NOTE:  If you’ve used Dr. Bronner’s soap, you know that it is pretty runny.  This recipe is also.   If you don’t like the runny consistency, you might want to us it in a foaming hand soap container.  Simply fill the container half full with this mixture, then add water to fill completely.  I am going to try this as soon as one of our foaming hand soap containers is empty.

Thanks Life Blessons for a great idea!

Give this a try & enjoy your body wash!

One thought on “Homemade Natural Body Wash – Liquid Castile Soap

  1. Pingback: Mrs. City Boy

Leave a Reply

