5 Things I want to Do With the Kids as Easter Approaches

Cover of "Benjamin's Box: The Story of th...

As usual, Easter has snuck up on me.  It is almost here.  Every year I have high hopes about making Holy Week spiritually meaningful for me and my family.  Yet every year life seems to get in the way.  Easter is the basis of our faith.  Without Jesus’ death and resurrection, we have no hope.  So  I am looking forward to doing some activities with the kids this week to make it meaningful for all of us.

Today I am spending my first day home without children (or my husband) planning activities for the week.  Now …if I can only make it happen!

Here is the plan:

  1. Read Jesus’ Passion from the Gospels
  2. Do Resurrection eggs.  I am going to make my own set of resurrection eggs.  I think we will do 2 eggs each night during our evening devotion.  Hopefully next year I can get a copy of “Benjamin’s Box” to go along with it
  3. Dye Easter eggs
  4. Make the empty tomb planter.  My friend Sue sent me this project and it looks awesome.  The grass won’t be very tall before Easter, but the kids will get the picture when they’re on spring break next week.   Hopefully this will help us focus on new life and new starts.
  5. Watch the Jesus movie for children.  My children know the story of Jesus’ life pretty well, but I think this film will make it become real for them.  You can watch it for free at jesusfilm.org.

Have a happy and blessed Easter, everyone!

2 thoughts on “5 Things I want to Do With the Kids as Easter Approaches

  1. Pingback: Easter Plans? | wyomingstorygirl

  2. Pingback: Update: 5 Things … As Easter Approaches | twinglemom

Leave a Reply

