Mock Chop Suey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mom made this for us when I was growing up.  It was a family favorite then and has become a family favorite again with my family

Mock Chop suey

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground beef (I use 1 1/2), cooked & drained
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup instant rice
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 2-4 Tablespoons worcheshire sauce
  • french fried onions (optional)

Directions

  • Mix above ingredients (except fried onions) in a casserole dish
  • Bake ate 350 for 1 hour – or about 15 minutes in the microwave stirring every 5 minutes
  • Add french fried onions for last 10 minutes of baking

I often add a can of mushrooms, some onion powder (my kids don’t like onion pieces in things), and a little extra rice & water since I use extra meat.

This recipe freezes & reheats well.

 

Leave a Reply

