What I learned from my son – putting the best construction on everything

I have an 8-year-old son named Aaron.  He has taught me a very important lesson; or at least reminded me of something.  Let me give you some background.  My first career was as a teacher.  I taught 3 & 4 grades in a Lutheran elementary school for 10 years.  When I met my husband and got married, I quit teaching.  Any teacher can tell you that at some point in your teaching career you have that student who never seems to get his work done; doesn’t  work up to his God-given ability; never seems to be paying attention (at least not to what HE’S supposed to be paying attention to). One of those kids who really frustrates you as a teacher.   Aaron is one of those kids.  He’s one of the brightest kids I’ve ever seen yet he always has homework.  He always seems to be getting into some sort of predicament (aka: trouble).  He doesn’t take responsibility for his own actions;  everything is always someone else’s fault.

Thanks to Facebook, I keep in contact with many of my former students, their parents, former classmates – both high school and college.  Of course, many of the parents of former students get a big kick out of this.  Turnabout is fair play, I guess.   I say God has a sense of humor.  First I had to deal with these kinds of kids as a teacher, now I have one of my own.  I guess God was preparing me for motherhood.  He knew what was coming.  I didn’t have a clue.

Anyway, I have learned a lot from Aaron.  I have learned to rejoice in the small things; like when he comes home with only one or two subjects for homework.  You should see us celebrate when he has NO homework!  (I think it has happened twice this school year!)   Like when he meets his monthly AR goal with a whole week left in the month.  Like when he straightens his room without me having to tell him fifteen times.

Aaron has reminded me not to sweat the small stuff.  He often needs to be reminded of this as well.  You see, Aaron tends to be a drama king.  He’s really good at making a mountain out of a mole hill.  I have the habit of asking him, “Is this a big thing or a little thing?”

The really important thing he has reminded me about:  “Put the best construction on everything.”  When I was in catechism class (MANY years ago) I remember learning the meaning of the eighth commandment – put the best construction on everything.  (Now I think they learn, take his words and actions in the kindest possible way.)  He always seems to see some positive in people’s actions.  I sure have to do better at that!  It seems that we adults seem to get into a rut of doing the exact opposite – taking someone’s words & actions in the most unkind way.

Thank you Father, for sending me a son to teach me a lesson!

 

Leave a Reply

