Love is Patient

I Corinthians 13:4-8

Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.   It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.

This is one of my favorite passages of Scripture.  It was read at our wedding in 1999.   It has also taken on a whole new meaning now that I am a mom.

Love is patient.  As a 48-year-old mom of three young children I often lose my patience.  It seems I lose my patience daily. I think it is partly a result of perimenopause; partly being a mom of two six-year-olds and an 8-year-old son who is borderline ADHD.  I often pray for patience.  I want to set a good example for my children.

Love is kind.  Have we been kind today?  Kids can be terribly unkind.  Especially to siblings.  But they can be especially kind, also.

Love is not rude.  This is something we are working on constantly with our children.  They are always interrupting me or each other.  We have a rule in our house:  if you interrupt someone to ask a question the answer is automatically “No”.  We include when we are talking on the phone.  This may seem harsh, but they are learning to think before they speak.

Love always protects, hopes, and perseveres.  What mother doesn’t protect her children?  Or hope for their future?  I sometimes feel like I cannot take any more.  But God helps me.

So when I am having a bad day I try to remember as I hope you will:  God is patient, God is kind.  God is not rude, easily angered, and keeps no record of wrongs.  God does not delight in evil, but rejoices in the truth.  He always helps us to trust, hope and persevere.  God’s love never fails.

Thank you Father, for walking with us on our earthly journey, always guiding our way.

Leave a Reply

