Cooking with fresh lemon juice

This image shows a whole and a cut lemon.

Today while I was in Walmart, I noticed that lemons were marked down from $.50 each to $.25 each.  Cool!  Half price!  I grabbed a few since I am out of fresh lemon juice at home.

Did you ever notice that many recipes that call for lemon juice only call for a tablespoon or two?  I do not need it very often and do not like to leave lemon juice in the fridge for long periods of time.  I started using fresh lemon juice in my recipes instead.

I buy lemons when they are on sale (as I did today).  I squeeze them,  put the juice into my ice-cube trays, and place them in the freezer.  When they are completely frozen, I transfer them to a zipper bag.  Whenever I need a little lemon juice, I take out what I need.  When I run out, I start the process all over again.   This way I almost always have fresh lemon juice in the house to use in my cooking.

Zitrone auf Zitronenpresse

As I am typing this, I have a pot of ginger tea cooking on the stove.  Ginger root is another thing I keep in the freezer.  I don’t use it on a regular basis, so it does not go bad before I use it all.

What do you store in your freezer?  I used to make my own baby food in ice-cube trays also, just like I do the lemon juice.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cooking with fresh lemon juice

  1. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

  2. Pingback: Retro Recipes – Fresh Fruit Drinks «

Leave a Reply

