Slow Cooker Lasagna

My family loves lasagna and my favorite way to make it is in my crock pot.  Several people have asked me for my recipe.  Although I don’t follow a recipe for lasagna in the crock pot I will try to share with you how I make it.  (I am normally one who follows a recipe for everything.)  It has become a family favorite.

a slow cooker Oval Crock Pot
Image via Wikipedia

Ingredients:

  • 9-12 lasagna noodles
  • 26-32 oz pasta sauce
  • mozzarella cheese
  • 1 tub cottage cheese with 1/2 c parmesan cheese added
  • 1 lb ground beef – browned & drained (I often use venison)
Directions:
  1. Place a handful or 2 of ground beef in the bottom of the crock pot
  2. Pour spaghetti sauce over ground beef
  3. Place 3 lasagna noodles over sauce mixture
  4. Top noodles with more sauce & ground beef
  5. Next layer on some of the cottage cheese mixture
  6. Cover with mozzarella cheese
  7. Continue layering until you have used all your noodles.  A layer of mozzarella cheese is on top

I cook mine for 3 hours on high & it is perfect.

I always have cooked ground meat in the freezer, so putting this together in the crock pot is really quick.   A great meal for a cold winter day.  Add some homemade bread & a salad for a super meal.

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Lasagna

  1. at the hospital we drained some whey off the cottage cheese and added an egg(s) –good for holding it together too – you can use the whey in the next loaf of bread that you make – I’m going to try this – it sounds good – lt

  2. Pingback: Quick & Easy Vegan Lasagna « sweetlyvegan

Leave a Reply

