Making a Family Cookbook

3 ring binder (opened)

Image via Wikipedia

I am in the process of making a family cookbook.  It is an ongoing process and really much easier than you might think.   I bought a three-ring binder during the back-to-school sales.  I also purchased some clear sheet protectors at that time.  I like to use these because I can take whatever recipe I am making right out of the cookbook to my work area.  Then I started adding recipes.  When I first started this several years ago, I just put my handwritten recipes in the protectors.  Now I use a program that I down I  downloaded for free: Regi Dean’s recipes.  There are also several programs you can purchase to help print your recipes.

At first I just kept adding recipes to the back of the binder.  As I started gathering more recipes, however, it took me longer and longer to find what I was looking for.   I then purchased some index tab dividers to organize my recipes.

I am in the process of going through my mom’s recipe box and adding all my favorites to my cookbook.  This has been a lot of fun for me and the kids.  It has also brought back some great memories!

So, if you like to cook and want to organize your recipes, give it a try.  Hopefully you will have as much fun as we have!

Leave a Reply

