Sweet Pickle Relish

Today my mother-in-law and I made sweet pickle relish.  This recipe came from my mom.  I don’t know where my mom got this recipe, but she made it ever since I was a child.  It is really quite easy but it is time-consuming.  But, like most good things, it is definitely worth it. It is great on both hot dogs, brats and hamburgers and it tarter sauce.  I add it to ground bologna and potato salad as well.  Give it a try.  I bet you’ll never use store-bought relish again!

Sweet Pickle Relish

Ingredients

  • 4 quarts pickles, peeled & ground
  • 4 peppers, ground
  • 4 onions, ground
  • 2 TBS salt
  • 4 tsp mustard seed
  • 4 tsp celery seed
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 4 cups vinegar (white)

Directions

  1. Combine first 4 ingredients.  Let stand 2 hours; drain well
  2. Add remaining ingredients.
  3. Boil 30 minutes.
  4. Add green food coloring if desired.
  5. Can while still boiling hot.  It can  be processed in a boiling water canner for 10 minutes.

It yeilds about 9 pints.

Have an abundance of zucchini?  You can substitute some or all of the pickles with zucchini.

Leave a Reply

